Vadim Zelichenok
Mikhail Butov

European elections


Hansjörg Wirz of Switzerland has been re-elected as President of European Athletics for a fourth term at the continental bodys Congress in London. Russias Vadim Zelichenok re-elected as European Athletics Council member, and Mikhail Butov was elected into the Competition Committee.

The Russian delegation was headed by the Russian Athletics President Valentin Balakhnichev.

Russian Atheltics Vice-President, Head of the IAAF Regional Development Center in Moscow, EA Council Member Vadim Zelichenok was re-elected into the European Athletics Council as a member.

Russian Athletics General Secretary, Russian Winter meeting director, the 2013 World Championships and the 2012 IAAF Race Walking Cup coordinator Mikhail Butov was elected into the Competition Committee.

Russian Athletics Vice-President, Moscow Athletics President Oleg Kurbatov didn’t scored enough votes to be re-elected into the Development Committee.

President Wirz was chosen to lead, direct and represent European Athletics for the period 2011-2015 ahead of challenger Svein Arne Hansen.

"Our Member Federations have shown their appreciation for what I have done in the last four years and have shown confidence that the future of our sport on the continent is going in the right direction," said President Wirz.

"We now look ahead towards more hard work so we can live up to the expectations of our members."

Jose Luis de Carlos (ESP), Karel Pilny (CZE) and Jean Gracia (FRA) were voted in as European Athletics Vice-Presidents.

Video interviews of many of European Athletics newly elected officials are available on the European Athletics YouTube site here, including an interview with President Wirz here.

The following were elected as European Athletics Council members:
Franco Arese (ITA)
Sylvia Barlag (NED)
Jonas Egilsson (ISL)
Liam Hennessy (IRL)
Frank Hensel (GER)
Dobromir Karamarinov (BUL)
Toralf Nilsson (SWE)
Erki Nool (EST)
Antti Pihlakoski (FIN)
Jorge Salcedo (POR)
Gabriela Szabo (ROM)
Salih Munir Yaras (TUR)
Vadim Zelichenok (RUS)

Pierce OCallaghan (IRL), Jean-Pierre Schoebel (MON), Libor Varhanik (CZE) and Mikhail Butov (RUS) were voted onto the Competition Committee.

Nick Davis (IRL), Anthony Chircop (MLT), Milan Pedalo (BIH) and Erich Teigamägi (EST) were voted on to the Development Committee.

See more at

RusAthletics - Russian Athletics

   RusAthletics.comRambler's Top100